¡Sanfrecce Olé!


Makino named in Japan squad

Posted by stefanole on 2009/05/26

Makino Tomoaki by Stephen Packer

Makino Tomoaki by stefanole

I’m a little late on this, but Sanfrecce’s Makino Tomoaki has been named in the Japan squad for the upcoming Kirin Cup, as well as the three upcoming World Cup qualifiers. Well done Makino, but there are more than a few voices asking why Sato Hisato has been again overlooked. Source.

Makino is currently uncapped at full senior level and would likely see action as a substitute. He has previously been capped nine times at U18, U19 and U20 level for Japan, including three caps for Japan as a starter at the U20 FIFA World Cup in 2007 (along with Kashiwagi Yosuke) in a team that fell in the Round of 16 to the Czech U20s on penalties (both Makino and Kashiwagi scored their spot kicks) after drawing 2-2 in normal time (Makino also scored in the 22nd minute of normal time). Hirashige Ryuichi also travelled to Canada with the U20 squad but was not capped. The current U20 squad will not play at the 2009 U20 World Cup in Egypt as they did not qualify for it.

The first Kirin Cup game will be tomorrow against Chile. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch it and the other four matches and report back.

The full Japanese squad is as follows:

1 Seigo Narazaki (Nagoya Grampus)
18 Ryota Tsuzuki (Urawa Reds)
23 Eiji Kawashima (Kawasaki Frontale)


22 Yuji Nakazawa (Yokohama F. Marinos)
5 Satoshi Yamaguchi (Gamba Osaka)
4 Marcus Tulio Tanaka (Urawa Reds)
3 Yuichi Komano (Jubilo Iwata)
20 Yasuyuki Konno (FC Tokyo)
15 Yuto Nagatomo (FC Tokyo)
21 Tomoaki Makino (Sanfrecce Hiroshima)
6 Atsuto Uchida (Kashima Antlers)


10 Shunsuke Nakamura (Celtic/Scotland)
27 Hideo Hashimoto (Gamba Osaka)
7 Yasuhito Endo (Gamba Osaka)
14 Kengo Nakamura (Kawasaki Frontale)
8 Daisuke Matsui (Saint Etienne/France)
2 Yuki Abe (Urawa Red Diamonds)
17 Makoto Hasebe (Wolfsburg/Germany)
19 Keisuke Honda (VVV Venlo/Holland)
25 Shinji Kagawa (Cerezo Osaka)
24 Naoki Yamada (Urawa Reds)


11 Keiji Tamada (Nagoya Grampus)
16 Yoshito Okubo (Wolfsburg/Germany)
12 Kisho Yano (Albirex Niigata)
9 Shinji Okazaki (Shimizu S-Pulse)
13 Shinzo Koroki (Kashima Antlers)

Credit to Samurai Warrior for the translation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: